Grad Ireland Fair 2016

On Wednesday, I went along to the Grad Fair in the RDS. I was excited to go and see what kind of career opportunities there were available for me after I graduate in various businesses.

Overall, I was quite disappointed as I realised that with the companies that attended the fair, the majority of them didn’t have any opportunities for the course we did. The only relevant aspect of the course that kept coming up was mostly marketing. I chose the digital marketing module last year and I really enjoyed it. However, I don’t think I would like to just do marketing when I graduate. The main area I am focused on is graphic & web design. Also, we’ve only done digital marketing and most of the companies are looking for all aspects of marketing. Some companies (e.g. Amazon) don’t have a marketing division in Ireland, so I’d need to relocate to London or somewhere in Europe.

I did have an enjoyable day but I was kind of let down by the lack of opportunities for CDM students. Maybe next year they will have more!

Leave a Reply

