Android Design Patterns

I’ve started re-designing my wireframes and since I’ve decided I’m making the app for Android, I felt it was important to have a look at Android design patterns. The main thing I wanted to figure out was where the back button should be placed, as well as a settings button.

I am an iPhone user so I don’t know a lot about the Android interface – another reason why I had to research the design patterns. I found two websites that were very useful – www.androiddocs.com/design/ and developer.android.com/design/index.html.

From these documents, I learned that back buttons of a main page are not allowed as Android phones all have back buttons at the bottom of the screen so there is no use for them. However, for example, you’re at Home > Distractions > Music > Calm Music, you can use a back button on the Calm Music screen to go back to the Music screen, and then another one on the Music screen to go back to the Distraction screen. You can’t use a back button on the Distraction screen as it is a main/parent screen.

With regards to the settings, this is usually placed in the 3 dots icon (see image below) and is usually placed on the top right of the screen.

Image result for 3 dots android

Leave a Reply

