Colour Palettes

I need to start looking at colour palettes before I start doing mockups on the screens. Originally I had a purple palette but it didn’t really work out as the text was hard to read against the background. However I really like the purple and I’m finding it hard to let go of it and choose a different colour.

I started looking online at different palette generators and messing around with different shades of purples, blues and greens to see what colours complement each other and what works best. From my prototype and feedback, I definitely need a white colour in my palette so the text will be clean and easier to read.

First I looked at Paletton.

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 12.59.35.png

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 13.05.21.png

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 13.06.10.png

MaterialPalette:

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 13.06.58.png

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 13.07.10.png

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 13.07.24.png

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 13.07.40.png

Out of all the schemes, I think the purples and blues are the nicest, particularly the purple and blue ones from Paletton and the first blue one from MaterialPalette. I don’t really like the green palettes at all.

I do like the blue but the majority of the apps I have looked at that are similar to my own use a blue colour palette, so I wanted to use a purple because it would be different.

Leave a Reply

