Inspiration: Stress Analyst

When I was looking at KillYourAnxiety.com, I came across a link for when you’re having an anxiety attack. I clicked on it and it brought me to a Stress Analyst. It’s a page that helps you get over a stressful experience by analysing your stress.

You can either choose “calm me now” or “just looking”. As I am looking at this for research purposes, I chose just looking.

It tells you to pretend you’ve been in a stressful experience and answer as if it was real. You choose how you’re feeling – I chose panicky.

stress1.PNG

After that, it tells you that it’s going to figure out why you feel panicky. You’re asked to look around and if there is any sign of physical danger, to run. Then you choose what the bad thing that happened was – I chose failing despite great effort.

stress2.PNG

Next it explains why that situation may have provoked panicky feelings.

stress3.PNG

Next they try to reassure the brain that there is no need for a fight or flight response to the situation, and you choose another thing that may have happened during the situation.

stress4.PNG

The next steps are to consider different types of action and to see if an adrenaline boost would help the situation at all. Honestly from this stage on I wasn’t really sure what to answer as I don’t experience panic attacks or panicky feelings and don’t fully know what is experienced (it differs from person to person) so I answered whatever I thought I would answer if I actually did experience it. For this one, I clicked yes.

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 12.01.24.png

They ask if a jolt of adrenaline would help the situation – adrenaline increases while suffering from a panic attack. I selected yes.

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 12.03.06.png

Next you have to select which state you think is best – I chose the second, as from research it’s better to be calm, aware as well as patient and open minded, instead of being in the flight and fight state, which won’t help the situation.

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 12.07.53.png

There is just information on this step about exposure to stress hormones and that giving time and attention to the problem will be much better for your thinking.

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 12.09.32.png

Next I have a choice of analysing different actions you can use if this happens again. As an example, I analysed “Talk/interact with one or more people”. After I looked at that, I clicked onto the next stage.Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 12.11.29.png

I selected yes to this next question.

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 12.11.46.png

I chose 1 in 1,000 (wasn’t really sure what to answer here)

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 12.12.23.png

I selected the second option.

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 12.12.30.png

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 12.12.36.png

Again I had to choose how stressed I was feeling after everything I had done – I chose calm. Next I was asked to choose what I plan to do that will help me calm down and how I’d feel after doing them.

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 12.15.37.png

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 12.15.52.png

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 12.17.28.png

And that’s the end of the session. I found it interesting to see it and go through it as it is similar to my Control My Panic feature. However, it’s a lot more in depth and it takes a while to get through it. It seems like it would be helpful for someone in a panic, but the length of it might be off-putting – a solution that is similar to that and is quicker, I personally feel would be better.

Its design is poor and is very basic but it gives good information and seems to be effective. They also included realistic thinking type questions that I will have included in my feature.

This is the first proper type of step-by-step help process I’ve seen!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

