Name brainstorming

I took Daniel’s advice and I opened up Word, typed in “calm” and used the thesaurus to help find similar words. I got a whole bunch of different words and threw them into a mind map.

mind-map-names

Out of them all, the ones I liked were:

  • Pacify
  • Unwind
  • Breathe
  • Distract
  • Serenity
  • Control
  • Harmony

I particularly like Unwind out of them all – it’s simple, and the word relates to the app. Next I took each of these words and entered them into an Irish dictionary to see what they were in Irish and if they would work. Some didn’t directly translate into Irish and I don’t really think any of the others would work for the app.

irish names.png

For now, I am going to stick with Unwind and see what Daniel says on Friday. I’ve asked a few people their opinion on the name and mostly have gotten positive responses. Some have said you wouldn’t really be able to tell it’s an app for panic attacks from the name, which is true, but the meaning behind the name relates to the app, and a lot of names for apps and other things aren’t extremely obvious as to what they are about.

Leave a Reply

