Assets: Realistic Thinking

Again,  I found out about Realistic Thinking from reading on Anxiety BC. They have a document about Management Strategies for Panic Disorder which speaks about asking yourself questions to ground yourself. Usually when people are experiencing a panic attack, they overestimate (i.e. they feel something that’s highly unlikely is going to happen, like dying) and they catastrophize (imagining the worst thing that could possibly happen will happen and not being able to cope).

Using realistic thinking questions will help you realise that what you’re thinking will happen isn’t going to. There is a section in the CMP feature that will have 4/5 Realistic Thinking questions (mixture of overestimating and overcatastrophizing), and then more questions will be available in the Realistic Thinking part of the Distract feature.

Overestimating Questions:

What am I afraid will happen?

How many times have I had this thought when I am having a panic attack?

How many times has it actually happened?

How many times have I had that thought?

How many times has it actually happened?

How likely is it that it will really happen?

Catastrophizing Questions:

What am I afraid will happen?

What would be so bad about that?

What’s the worst that could happen?

How bad is it really?

Is it a hassle or a horror?

Will it make a difference in my life in a week or year from now?

How could I cope if it did happen?

Have I been embarrassed in the past?

How has that turned out? Did it make a difference?

So, how bad is it to embarrass myself?

These questions have the ability to be answered, but as I’ve previously mentioned in another blog post, I don’t really know if the user would be in the perfect state to be able to type this out so it may be better for them to just answer them in their head.

Source: Anxiety BC

 

Leave a Reply

